Suffolk REMSCO

2019 REMSCO Awards Winners


                                                                                                 Chairman:     Philip Cammann
                                                                                 Vice-Chairman:     Anthony Pellicone
                                                                          Secretary/Treasurer:    Mark Zender, PA-C

                                                  NYS EMS Council Representative:    William-Michael Masterton



The Suffolk Regional Emergency Medical Services Council was established and carries out its responsibilities pursuant to Article 30 of the New York State Public Health Law and Part 800 of the NYS CCRR. This thirty-member Council has representation from: out-of-hospital emergency medical care providers from the fire service; community volunteer, and commercial ambulance service sectors; physicians; nurses; health planning agencies; hospitals; police services; county government; the business community; and other constituencies promoting good health. By statute, the Council is charged with several responsibilities including coordination of emergency medical services in the Suffolk Region.


The heterogeneous make up of the Suffolk REMSCO has been identified by the NY State Department of Health as a “best practice” by bringing together those individuals with broad out reach into, and out, of the regional health care delivery system to provide a vital link in information gathering and dissemination.

The REMSCO encourages active participation by all parties involved in our emergency response system, and thus, we welcome you to our public meetings. The REMSCO meets on the second Tuesday of every other month, starting in January, at 7:00 p.m. at LOCATION TO BE DETERMINED

Meeting dates for 2020 are: January 21 held at the Suffolk County Fire Academy, 103 East Avenue, Yaphank, March 17, May 12 NO in-person meeting, teleconference only.  Anyone wishing to attend needs to email James MacDonell at for call in instructions., July 14 MEETING CANCELLED, September 8 and November 10. 

We encourage you to keep informed by those who represent you, and to use those representatives to bring your voice to the REMSCO proceedings. Just like an organizational flow chart, or Incident Command System chain of authority and reporting, we view this as a vital link in the two-way communication that is necessary to enhance regional coordination.



Click on Member Name to Send Your Representative an Email Message.

Click on Member Affiliation for Description of Constituency Represented.

The Suffolk REMSCO is pleased to announce the development of the “REMSCO-REMAC Gold Medal CPR Award.” This award is designed to promote widespread citizen CPR in Suffolk County and recognize EMS services and other organizations who train a critical mass of rescuers in Hands-Only CPR (chest compression only) or Traditional CPR (chest compressions and rescue breathing). Increasing the percentage of the lay public who are trained in CPR, is linked to greater application of bystander CPR prior to EMS arrival, which is linked to increased survivability. Please click on the links below for a formal program description and application. Please feel free to email Robert Delagi or Ellen Komosinski if you have any questions or require any additional information.


REMSCO-REMAC Gold Medal Community CPR Award

CPR Picture



Gregson Pigott, MD EMS Medical Director Public Health Officer   
Scott Coyne, MD SCPD Law Enforcement /Medevac Operations
Robin Lane UCP Association of Greater Suffolk Public Interest
Carlos Ortiz Hudson River Healthcare Public Interest
Jamie Atkinson Islip Town Ambulance Chiefs Ambulance Services
John Manzi SC Fire District Association Fire Department/Ambulance Services
Nathaniel Bialek SC EMS Coordinator Ambulance Services
Helen Rosenblum, Esq. North Fork Vol. Rescue Association Ambulance Services
Matthew Zukosky Suffolk County Community College EMS Education
Greg Miniutti SC FRES Ambulance Services
Robert Franz 7th Dist. NYSVA & RA  Ambulance Services
Ian Levine Fire Island Law Enf.  & Safety Council Ambulance Services/Public Safety
Bruce Hoffman Southampton Town EMS Advisory Com. Ambulance Services
Joseph Micheels Emergency Ambulance Service Commercial Transportation Sector
John Dembek Catholic Health Services Long Island Hospitals/Healthcare
Edward J. Boyd, Esq. SC Fire Chiefs Council Fire Department/Ambulance Services
William M. Masterton SC Department of Health Services Public Health Officer/Ambulance Services
Meryl Montrose SC Volunteer Firemans Association Fire Department/Ambulance Services
Connie Kraft, RN SC ENA Emergency Nurses
Jane McCormack, RN Suffolk Regional Trauma Council Emergency Physicians/Hospitals/RTAC
Bryan Prosek SC FRES Commission Fire Department/Ambulance Services
Linda Wenze, PhD Nassau-Suffolk Hospital Council Hospital Preparedness
Anthony Pellicone North Shore/LIJ at Southside Hospital Hospital/Healthcare
Bruce Talmage SC Ambulance Chiefs Ambulance Services
Philip Cammann East End Ambulance Coalition Ambulance Services
Stephen Slovensky University Hospital Stony Brook Ambulance Services/Tertiary Care Center
Hon. Tom Donnelly SC Legislature Public Interest
Mark Zender, RPA-C NYS Society of Physician Assistants Physicians Assistants
Kevin Pesce SC Medical Control Medical Control
Jason Winslow, MD                      Suffolk REMAC  Emergency Department Physicians

Effective: July, 2016